Self-help

Sharing Youth Centre in Uganda

AIDS prevention and training/integration programme for refugees and disadvantaged young people

  • Approach
  • Current status
  • Project partners

Awareness and good education are the best weapons against poverty

Since 2005, Aktion Canchanabury has been working with the Sharing Youth Center, the largest youth centre in Kampala. Under the motto "Education and Encounter", the Sharing Youth Centre sees itself as an open youth centre as well as a training centre for young people between the ages of eight and 25 from the slums in Kampala. The centre offers a wide range of sports, educational and awareness-raising activities, such as basketball, computer courses, tutoring and the "Behaviour Change Programme". The "Behaviour Change Programme" is HIV/AIDS prevention work in which the young people are informed about the dangers and modes of transmission of HIV/AIDS by means of various workshops, but they also have the opportunity to ask questions that concern them. In addition, the young people have the opportunity to learn a trade as a carpenter, metal worker, cook, tailor or hairdresser. The versatile offer of the Share Youth Centre aims to strengthen and support young people from poorer families outside Kampala and to open up vocational perspectives for them. Due to the large premises of the centre, events such as plays, talent shows or football matches can always take place, bringing together the young people and the people from the communities.

The youth centre is largely self-financing, as the in-house craft and training businesses receive numerous orders from the region. In addition, the centre's large event hall is constantly booked for weddings, receptions, congresses and many other events. The catering for the events is of course done by the trainee cooks and home economists.

Since 2019, there has been the "Refugee Project", which is intended to offer refugees from other African countries the opportunity to complete an apprenticeship in Uganda. The young people do this together with Ugandan trainees - this is how real integration can take place.

 

Covering the costs of four "Behaviour Chance Workshops", education about the dangers of AIDS, financing the "Refugee Project", training program for young refugees

2022: EUR 24,527.15

 

 

Sharing Youth Centre
Father Hilaire Guinko
Kampala/ Uganda

  • Project number: AC 5616
  • Cooperation partner: Africa Missionaries White Fathers, Uganda
  • In contact since: 2005
  • Project location: Southern part of Kampala, the capital of Uganda, at the intersection of several slums and social hotspots.

 

 

to other exciting projects

Self-help

Mother of Mercy Hospital

Health care in the middle of nowhere - the Nuba Mountains

Self-help

CIDI Training Centre for Gardening and Landscaping

Vocational training for orphans and disadvantaged youth in horticulture.

Selbsthilfe

Sharing Youth Centre in Uganda

AIDS-Prävention und Ausbildungs- bzw. Integrationsprogramm für Flüchtlinge und benachteiligte Jugendliche

  • Ansatz
  • Aktueller Stand
  • Projektpartner/innen

Aufklärung und eine gute Ausbildung sind die besten Waffen gegen Armut

Seit 2005 arbeitet die Aktion Canchanabury mit dem Sharing Youth Center, dem größten Jugendzentrum von Kampala, zusammen. Unter dem Motto „Ausbildung und Begegnung“ versteht sich das Sharing Youth Center als offenes Jugendzentrum sowie Ausbildungsstätte für Jugendliche zwischen acht und 25 Jahren aus den Slums in Kampala. Im Center werden vielfältige Sport-, Bildungs- und Aufklärungsangebote wie zum Beispiel Basketball, Computerkurse, Nachhilfeunterricht sowie das „Behaviour-Change-Program“ angeboten. Beim „Behaviour-Change-Program“ handelt es sich um HIV/Aids Präventionsarbeit, in denen die Jugendlichen mittels verschiedenster Workshops über die Gefahren und Übertragungswege von HIV/Aids aufgeklärt werden, aber auch die Chance haben, selbst Fragen, die sie beschäftigen, zu stellen. Darüber hinaus haben die Jugendlichen die Möglichkeit, einen Ausbildungsberuf als Schreiner/in, Metallarbeiter/in, Koch/Köchin, Schneider/in oder Frisör/in zu erlernen. Das vielseitige Angebot des Share Youth Centers zielt auf die Stärkung und Unterstützung sowie die Eröffnung von beruflichen Perspektiven für Jugendlichen aus ärmeren Familien raus Kampala. Aufgrund der großen Räumlichkeiten des Centers können immer wieder Veranstaltungen wie Theaterstücke, Talentshows oder Fußballspiele stattfinden, die die Jugendlichen und die Menschen aus den Communities zusammenführen.

Das Jugendzentrum finanziert sich zum größten Teil selbst, denn die hauseigenen Handwerks- und Ausbildungsbetriebe erhalten zahlreiche Aufträge aus der Region. Daneben ist vor allem die große Veranstaltungshalle des Zentrums ständig für Hochzeiten, Empfänge, Kongresse und viele andere Veranstaltungen gebucht. Das Catering für die Veranstaltungen wird dabei natürlich von den angehenden Köchen/Köchinnen und Hauswirtschaftler/innen bewerkstelligt.

Seit dem Jahr 2019 gibt es das „Refugee-Project“, welches Flüchtlinge aus anderen afrikanischen Ländern die Möglichkeit bieten soll, eine Ausbildung in Uganda zu absolvieren. Dies machen die Jugendlichen zusammen mit ugandischen Auszubildenden – so kann echte Integration stattfinden.

 

Kostenübernahmen von vier „Behaviour-Chance-Workshops“, Aufklärung über die Gefahren von Aids und Finanzierung des „Refugee-Project“.

2019 – 2021:      45.000,00 EUR (Refugee-Project)
2020 – 2022:      9.000,00 EUR (Behaviour-Change-Programm)

 

 

Sharing Youth Centre
Father Hilaire Guinko
Kampala/ Uganda

  • Projektnummer: AC 5616
  • Kooperationspartner: Afrika Missionare Weiße Väter, Uganda
  • In Kontakt seit: 2005
  • Ort des Projektes: Südlicher Teil Kampalas, der Hauptstadt Ugandas, im Schnittpunkt mehrerer Slums und sozialer Brennpunkte

 

 

zu weiteren spannenden Projekten

Selbsthilfe

Kopeme Group

Regionale Krankenkasse, Sparclub und Karawane der Gesundheit.

Selbsthilfe

Coordination Provinciale Lèpre et Tuberculose (CPLT)

Behandlung und Kontrolle von Lepra und Tuberkulose.